Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeBlogNational Film Awards 2023: Celebrating Excellence in Indian Cinema

National Film Awards 2023: Celebrating Excellence in Indian Cinema

The National Film Awards 2023 highlighted the tremendous talent and creativity that distinguish the country’s film industry in a dazzling presentation that reflected the soul of Indian cinema.

The event, held at a prominent location, brought together filmmakers, actors, technicians, and cinephiles from throughout the country. The awards event not only recognized remarkable cinematic achievements but also served as a monument to Indian cinema’s unique tales and artistic excellence.

National Film Awards 2023

National Film Awards 2023

Today, October 17, was the 69th National Film Awards 2023. President Droupadi Murmu presented the prestigious award to the winners. The ceremony was place in Delhi’s Vigyan Bhavan.

Waheeda Rehman, a veteran actress with a five-decade career, was honored with the Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual National Awards ceremony. The National Film Awards have always been a platform for celebrating Indian cinema’s great diversity.

From popular blockbusters to indie gems, the awards recognize outstanding contributions in a variety of genres and languages. This year was no exception, with films from regional sectors receiving major attention, illustrating India’s film landscape’s cultural tapestry.

Best Feature Film:Rocketry
Best Director: Nikhil Mahajan, Godavari
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: RRR
Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration: The Kashmir Files
Best Actor: Allu Arjun, Pushpa
Best Actress: Alia Bhatt, Gangubai Kathiawadi and Kriti Sanon, Mimi
Best Supporting Actor: Pankaj Tripathi, Mimi
Best Supporting Actress: Pallavi Joshi, The Kashmir Files
Best Child Artist: Bhavin Rabari, Chhello Show
Best Screenplay (Original): Shahi Kabir, Nayattu
Best Screenplay (Adapted): Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha, Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Dialogue Writer: Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia, Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Music Director (Songs): Devi Sri Prasad, Pushpa
Best Music Direction (Background Music): MM Keeravaani, RRR
Best Male Playback Singer: Kaala Bhairava, RRR
Best Female Playback Singer: Shreya Ghoshal, Iravin Nizhal
Best Lyrics: Chandrabose, Konda Polam’s Dham Dham Dham
Best Hindi Film: Sardar Udham
Best Kannada Film: 777 Charlie
Best Malayalam Film: Home
Best Gujarati Film: Chhello Show
Best Tamil Film Kadaisi: Vivasayi
Best Telugu Film: Uppena
Best Maithili Film: Samanantar
Best Mishing Film: Boomba Ride
Best Marathi Film: Ekda Kaay Zala
Best Bengali Film: Kalkokkho
Best Assamese Film: Anur
Best Meiteilon Film: Eikhoigi Yum
Best Odia Film: Pratikshya
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Meppadiyan, Vishnu Mohan
Best Film on Social Issues: Anunaad – The Resonance
Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Aavasavyuham
Best Children’s Film: Gandhi and Co
Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist): Arun Asok & Sonu K P, Chavittu
Best Audiography (Sound Designer): Aneesh Basu, Jhilli
Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track): Sinoy Joseph, Sardar Udham
Best Choreography: Prem Rakshith, RRR
Best Cinematography: Avik Mukhopadhayay, Sardar Udham
Best Costume Designer: Veera Kapur Ee, Sardar Udham
Best Special Effects: Srinivas Mohan, RRR
Best Production Design: Dmitrii Malich and Mansi Dhruv Mehta, Sardar Udham
Best Editing: Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Makeup: Preetisheel Singh, Gangubai Kathiawadi
Best Stunt Choreography: King Soloman, RRR
Special Jury Award: Shershaah, Vishnuvardhan
Special Mention

1. Late Shri Nallandi, Kadaisi Vivasayi 2. Aranya Gupta & Bithan Biswas, Jhilli 3. Indrans, Home 4. Jahanara Begum, Anur
Best Non-feature film: Ek Tha Gaon
Best Direction (Non-feature film): Bakul Matiyani, Smile Please
Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Paanchika, Ankit Kothari
Best Anthropological Film: Fire on Edge
Best Biographical Film: Rukhu Matir Dukhu Majhi and Beyond Blast
Best Arts Films: T.N. Krishnan Bow Strings to Divine
Best Science & Technology Films: Ethos of Darkness
Best Promotional Film: Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’
Best Environment Film (Non-feature film): Munnam Valavu
Best Film on Social Issues (Non-feature film): Mithu Di and Three Two One
Best Investigative Film: Looking For Challan
Best Exploration Film: Ayushman
Best Educational Film: Sirpigalin Sirpangal
Best Short Fiction Film: Dal Bhat
Best Animation Film: Kandittundu
Best Film on Family Values: Chand Saanse
Best Cinematography (Non-feature film): Bittu Rawat, Pataal
Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track) (Non-feature film): Unni krishnan, Ek Tha Gaon
Best Production Sound Recordist (Location/Sync Sound) (Non-feature film): Suruchi Sharma, Meen Raag
Best Editing (Non-feature film): Abhro Banerjee, If Memory Serves Me Right
Best Music Direction (Non-feature film): Ishaan Divecha, Succelent
Best Narration/Voice Over (Non-feature film): Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee, Hathibondhu
Special Mention (Non-feature film):

1. Aniruddha Jatkar, Baale Bangara, 2. Srikanth Deva, Karuvarai, 3. Sweta Kumar Das, The Healing Touch, 4. Ram Kamal Mukherjee, Ek Duaa
Special Jury Award (Non-feature film): Shekhar Bapu Rankhambe, Rekha
Best Book on Cinema Music by Laxmikant Pyarelal: The Incredibly Melodious Journey by Rajiv Vijayakar
Best Film Critic: Purushothama Charyulu
Best Film Critic (Special Mention): Subramanya Bandoor

National Film Awards 2023

Behind the Scenes Heroes of Technical Brilliance

National Film Awards 2023: The technical prowess of Indian cinema was celebrated in categories including cinematography, editing, sound design, and special effects. The winners in these categories displayed extraordinary abilities, boosting the audience’s entire cinematic experience. Their skill in creating visual spectacles and immersive soundscapes brought depth and texture to the films on which they collaborated.


The 69th National Film Awards, given on October 17 at Delhi’s Vigyan Bhavan, revealed the spirit of Indian cinema. President Droupadi Murmu attended the event, which focused on cinematic excellence. Waheeda Rehman, a veteran actress, received the Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award, symbolizing the industry’s history.

A slew of awards recognized the best in Indian cinema, from the engaging storyline of “Rocketry” to the mesmerizing performances of “Gangubai Kathiawadi” and “Mimi.” The technical masterminds behind the scenes, from cinematography to visual effects, were recognized for their outstanding achievements.

The evening rang with the echoes of dedication, inventiveness, and passion that characterize the Indian film industry. The National Film Awards 2023 finished as a night of stars and victories, reflecting the industry’s continuing energy and artistic genius as the victors stood tall and the unsung heroes earned their due recognition.

Related Article: Jawan Roars at Box Office: Shah Rukh Khan Film Nears Rs 630 Crore with Rs 99 Ticket Strategy








Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments